Google search engine

The Speaker of Parliament, Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin has defered to October, his ruling g on the fate of three MPs he referred to the Privileges Committee for absenting themselves from parliament for more than 15 days.

Speaker Bagbin opined he needs more time to give a detailed ruling.

The three, Sara Adwoa Safo (MP, Dome-Kwabenya), Kennedy Ohene Agyapong (MP, Assin Central) and Henry Quartey (MP, Ayawaso Central) were summoned before the Privileges Committee for absenting themselves for 15 continuous sittings.

After meeting the Committee, Mr. Quartey and Agyapong were cleared at the committee level upon reasons they provided for their absenteeism.

But, Sarah Adwoa Safo, who has since the summon not been to Ghana has not been heard, with series of brouhaha emerging from her case.

After several attempts to reach her proved futile, an opportunity was granted her to meet the Committee digitally which she equally became indisposed.

The Majority caucus on the Committee agreed and announced through the Chair, Joe Osei Owusu, for the Speaker to declare the Dome Kwabenya seat vacant whilst the Minority rejected.

Meanwhile, a Parliamentary Monitoring Network, Odekro, has petitioned Speaker Bagbin to summon 30 other lawmakers who fell foul within the period in question before the Privileges Committee for probe.

By Felix Anim-Appau|