Google search engine

Eugene Arhin, the Director of Communications at the Presidency, has won the NPP parliamentary primary in the Awutu Senya West constituency of the Central region.

Mr. Arhin garnered 862 votes against Amos Opei Okine,  his closest contender who managed to secure 119 of the valid ballots.

The outcome of the Saturday, December 2 exercise presents Eugene Arhin as the NPP’s candidate for the 2024 elections in the constituency.

Meanwhile, the Okaikwei North constituency elected Nana Ama Asiamah Adjei who secured 341 votes against Alberta Afia Akoto’s 228. Fusseni Issah, a former MP for the constituency, managed only 114 with Managing Editor of the Daily Searchlight Kenneth Adjei Kuranchie, polling just 27 votes.

Nii Lante Bannerman, the 2024 candidate for the NPP also lost his bid to contest again to one Manaf Sowah who polled 349 votes.

In the Tempane constituency, Former Deputy Attorney-General Joseph Dindiok Kpemka, was elected the parliamentary candidate of the NPP to represent the party again in the 2024 general elections.

He was the Member of Parliament for the same constituency before losing to the National Democratic Congress (NDC) candidate in the 2020 elections.

Dindiok Kpemka on Saturday, December 2, 2023 polled 292 votes against his contender Deputy CEO of Youth Employment Agency (YEA) Ibrahim Bashiru who polled 229.

In the Eastern region, Deputy Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture, Mark Okraku-Mantey lost his bid to be the parliamentary candidate of the NPP in the Ayensuano constituency.

This was after he was defeated in the Saturday, December 2 orphan constituencies parliamentary elections of the NPP.

He garnered 136 votes while the victor Ida Adwoa Asiedu polled 410. The other aspirants Ernest Addo and Kingsley Boateng Adomah polled 4 and 3 votes respectively.

In the Adentan constituency, the Deputy Chief Executive Officer of the Ghana National Youth Authority, Akosua Manu (Kozie) was elected the parliamentary candidate.

She polled 814 against her closet contender Kwasi Obeng Fosu who had 638. Kwame Obimpeh Winfred Nartey had 18.

READ ALSO: NPP orphan constituencies election: Happenings here and there