Google search engine

The Electoral Commission has announced four candidates to contest for the flagbearer position of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in November.

As the NPP’s constitution mandates that the 10 persons who expressed interest be reduced to five, two candidates –Boakye Kyeremateng Agyarko and Francis Adai-Nimoh –who had a tie in fifth position would be split with a runoff on September 2.

Announcing the results at the party’s headquarters, Director of Elections at the EC, Dr. Serebour Quarcoe, indicated that four of the candidates stood out clearly, and the EC will act on the decision of the party on the two aspirants who had a tie.

Making the top four list were Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia with 629 votes, Kennedy Ohene Agyapong amassing 132 votes. Alan John Kwadwo Kyerematen also garnered 95 votes with Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto coming onto the list with 36 votes.

Chairman of the Elections Committee for the NPP, Prof. Aaron Mike Ocquaye, at the declaration of the results said the party will be voting until they get a winner to join the standing four, unless maybe one or both decide to opt out.

“The two joining the race will be unconstitutional. Next week Saturday, there will be a runoff among the two. At the end of the day, we are going to present five people for the grand finale. All 927 delegates are going to vote. If someone steps down that’s the end of the exercise but if not, we have to organise the runoff,” Prof. Oquaye stated.

923 total valid votes were casted from a total votes of 927 with 4 rejected ballots.

READ ALSO: [VIDEO] Ken Agyapong threatens Akufo-Addo/Bawumia a ‘showdown’ over incident at voting centre