Google search engine

The governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) has held the balloting for its flag bearer hopefuls ahead of the November 4 delegates’ conference.

At the end of the balloting held in Accra Wednesday, September 13, 2023, Kennedy Agyapong picked the first slot with Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia picking the second slot.

Former Minister of Agriculture, Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto picked the third slot with the fourth slot occupied by former Member of Parliament for Mampong, Francis Addai-Nimoh.

The November 4 delegates’ conference of the NPP will elect its flag bearer for the 2024 general elections.

The resignation of former Trade and Industry Minister, Alan John Kwadwo Kyerematen, has made the contest a two-horse race with four aspirants, including Vice President Mahamudu Bawumia, Kennedy Ohene Agyapong, former Minister of Agriculture, Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto and former Member of Parliament for Mampong, Francis Adai-Nimoh.

Ten persons initially filed to contest for the position but were pruned to 5 after a special delegates’ conference was held on August 26.

Mr. Kyerematen resigned citing intimidation of his agents as part of the reasons, aside from the party leadership scheming the contest in favour of one particular candidate.

A tie-breaker was supposed to be held for Francis Adai-Nimoh and Boakye Kyeremateng Agyarko who resigned after disagreeing with the change in the provisions stated in the party’s regulations for the run-off.

READ ALSO: Alan Kyerematen opts out of NPP flagbearer race