Google search engine

The September 2, 2023 run-off scheduled to break the tie between Francis Addai-Nimoh and Boakye Kyeremateng Agyarko of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) for the final phase of their flagbearer race has been called off. 

Leadership of the party came up with the decision after Mr. Agyarko’s withdrawal from the contest.

In a statement addressed to Mr. Agyarko Thursday, August 31, 2023, Chairman of the NPP Presidential Elections Committee, Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye noted that: “We take notice of your decision to withdraw from the contest and therefore the run-off election scheduled for Saturday, September 2, 2023, will no longer be held.”

The run-off was necessitated to decide who joins the standing four between Mr. Kyeremateng Agyarko and Adai-Nimoh for the November 4 presidential primary of the NPP.

But according to Mr. Agyarko, the party’s decision to allow only the National Council vote to break the tie instead of the 955 delegates who partook in the initial exercise on August 26 was a breach of the party’s constitutional provisions.

“I refuse to be a part of such an act that seeks to unjustly truncate a previously agreed upon process, and cannot be part of what is about to be done on Saturday, 2nd September 2023. I cannot, with a clear conscience make such an impermissible concession to such an errant decision. I, therefore, respectfully, serve this notice to refrain from such a contest. As always, I wish the party well,” he said in a letter addressed to Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye on August 31, 2023.


The NPP held a super delegates’ conference on August 26 to reduce its flagbearer hopefuls from 10 to five.

At the end of the polls, Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia won the super delegates conference with a total of 629 votes, representing 68.15% of the vote.

Assin Central MP Kennedy Agyapong came in second with 132 votes (14.30%) while former Trade Minister Alan Kyerematen placed third with 95 votes (10.29%). Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto placed fourth with 36 votes (3.90%).

The New Patriotic Party disclosed that a run-off will be held on Saturday, September 2, to decide the fate of Boakye Agyarko and Francis Addai-Nimoh after both presidential candidates secured nine (9) votes each.

Although the persons who voted during the August 26 special delegates conference were expected to take part in the run-off, the party later announced that only members of its National Council will vote in the exercise.

According to the party, the decision is to save time and cost adding that it will be held at its headquarters at Asylum Down in Accra.

Mr. Agyarko was however unhappy with such decision.

“In light of your withdrawal, the aspirants who will contest in the November 4 election are as follows: Mahamudu Bawumia; Ken Ohene Agyapong; Alan John Kwadwo Kyerematen; Owusu Afriyie Akoto and Francis Addai-Nimoh,” Mr. Oquaye said in the letter.

Prof. Oquaye extended the party’s appreciation to Mr Agyarko for his engagement and communication on the matter and noted that the Committee remained committed to transparency and fairness in all aspects of its work.

READ ALSO: If you lose, don’t go and sleep – NPP Chair advises aspirants ahead of Super Delegates Conference